Наука

Hydroxyapatite

Crystalline structure of hydroxyapatite in dental enamel

Наука Нано-гидроксиапатита

Представьте себе возможность восстанавливать зубную эмаль каждый раз во время чистки. Представьте себе уникальную возможность вернуть назад здоровье зубов на стадии белого пятнистого кариеса. Звучит как научная фантастика? Нет, это научный факт.

 

Наша зубная эмаль состоит в основном из твердых кристаллов гидроксиапатита. Когда бактерии в налете поглощают сахар, они выделяют молочную кислоту, которая деминерализирует и разрушает эти кристаллы, делая эмаль слабее и постепенно полностью ее разрушая.

 

К счастью, слюна как правило справляется с реминерализацией эмали за счет мельчайших кристалликов, размером пары миллионной доли миллиметра, что возвращает эмали здоровое. Но если в слюне не достаточно гидроксиапатита или кислота в налете преобладает над естественным защитным механизмом, то это приводит к медленному разрушению эмали и кариесу.

 

Placeholder

20-50nm Hydroxyapatite Nanoparticles

Для укрепления эмали и снижения вероятности появления кариеса во многие зубные пасты добавляют фтор. Хотя в малых дозах фтор считается полезным и присутствует в нашей ежедневной пище и воде, избыток фтора может принести больше вреда чем пользы: флюороз и даже отравление.

 

Теперь появился новый революционный ингредиент – нано-гидроксиапатит. В отличие от фтора, нано-гидроксиапатит абсолютно безопасен для здоровья, он не только укрепляет, но и реминерализирует эмаль. Нано-гидроксиапатит – это нано-кристаллическая форма гидроксиапатита, являющаяся главной составляющей эмали наших зубов. В нано-кристаллической форме, при правильном размере, он способен заполнять микро-пустоты эмали и реминерализировать ее.

 

Нано-гидроксиапатит входит также в состав слюны и поэтому зубы не разрушаются всякий раз, когда мы поглощаем кислотную пищу или напитки. Зубная паста MEGASONEX® дает дополнительный нано-гидроксиапатит величиной 20-50 нм, чтобы усилить этот естественный процесс. Так как MEGASONEX® содержит био-идентичный нано-гидроксиапатит, он абсолютно безопасен и нет риска его передозировки даже детям, в отличие от фтора.

 

* наногидроксиапатит помогает реминерализации зубов на стадии белого пятнистого кариеса, но бессилен при полном масштабном кариесе разрушении зуба. Советуем посещать стоматолога, как минимум, дважды в год.

Science

Hydroxyapatite

Crystalline structure of hydroxyapatite in enamel

Nano-Hydroxyapatite Science

Imagine renewing your tooth enamel every time you brush. Imagine having the power to reverse early-stage tooth decay* at the tip of your toothbrush. Sounds like science fiction? It’s science fact!

 

The majority of tooth enamel is made up of a hard crystal called hydroxyapatite. When bacteria in plaque eat up sugars, they give off lactic acid, which demineralizes or breaks down these crystals, making the enamel weaker or possibly even completely breaking it down, which results in caries, or cavities.

 

Luckily, your saliva usually succedes in resupplying or remineralizing your enamel with this tiny crystal, just a few nanometers (millionths of a millimenter) across, which restores your enamel to good health. However, if there is not enough hydroxyapatite in your saliva, or if the acid from the plaque overwhelms your natural defense mechanism, your enamel is slowly dissolved, leading to cavities.

 

Placeholder

20-50nm Hydroxyapatite Nanoparticles

Traditionally, toothpastes used fluoride to help strengthen tooth enamel and lessen the likelihood of developing tooth decay.  While fluoride is a beneficial ingredient that many of us are already exposed to in the foods and water we drink every day, too much fluoride can cause more harm than good, including chronic conditions like fluorosis or even poisoning.

 

Now, there is a new ingredient… nano-hydroxyapatite.  Unlike fluoride, nano-hydroxyapatite doesn’t just help to strengthen tooth enamel… it actually rebuilds it.  Nano-hydroxyapatite is a nanocrystalline form of hydroxyapatite, the main building block of tooth enamel.  When in nanocrystalline form, at the right size, it is small enough to be able to stick in the pits and fissures of your enamel, bonding with it to help it to actually remineralize.

 

While your saliva has nano-hydroxyapatite floating around in it, which is why your teeth don’t keep rotting away more and more every time you eat acidic foods, MEGASONEX® toothpaste supplies additional nano-hydroxyapatite at the appropriate 20-50nm particle size to turbocharge this natural repair process.  In addition, because MEGASONEX® toothpaste relies on nano-hydroxyapatite, a bio-identical ingredient that is perfectly safe to consume, there is absolutely no danger of fluoride overdose, even for children.

 

* Nano-Hydroxyapatite may help to reverse early stage tooth decay, called white spot caries, but cannot help once decay has progressed beyond this stage. As always, we suggest that everybody visit their dentist at least twice a year.